Last night brought the first snowflakes of the season to Winston Salem and I decided it an appropriate occasion to pull out a board game for the first time. I’m not sure how much the confection theme of the game influenced BB but it was quite well received. BB beat me twice before I took a break to make dinner. As soon as I was out of sight, a game with many pieces suffered the fate of some many toys in our house and somehow was strewn about the living room.

As I was flipping blueberry pancakes, I heard the following conversation:

RB: “Do you want to play?”
BB: (excitedly) “YES!”
RB: (singing) “Clean up time, everybody”
BB: (interrupting) “Daddy, it’s not clean up time, it’s pick up time”

I guess he’s figured out that clean up time is the end of the day (or school) whereas picking up means more fun to be had.

I have to say that I was super excited when BB rolled over for the first time, sat up on his own for the first time and took his first steps but the development of language skills is by far the most interesting and impressive stage of development yet.

And just because a post ought to have a picture, here is BB exploring the snow this morning. Good thing we got out early, it’s already gone.

a picture for you

a picture for you

(J)BB

